Happy Birthday?

Yesterday was C’s birthday.  She barely talked to me all day and didn’t even “like” my post I put on Facebook with our picture and me saying happy birthday to my best friend.  I know she had a ton of work to do and was crazy busy, but I think she’s just one of those people who doesn’t like their birthday.  I didn’t get to see her yesterday, so I got together with her the day before and gave her the gifts I got for her and bought her Starbucks.

The day we did that was the day after the whole debacle with J, so it was very strained and I really feel like it wasn’t the celebration we were hoping for.  I was pretty distant and not as happy and flirty as I normally am.  I’m sure she felt it.  But what am I supposed to do?  Act like my feelings weren’t hurt and my heart isn’t broken?  I don’t do this mad thing very well.  But honestly, the homophobic remarks she made cut like a knife and part of me thinks that getting over her might be a little easier because of them.  Even if she made the comments from a state of self-shame, I am so disappointed that she would even say anything to that effect.

But she did love all of the gifts I got for her and posted every single one on Facebook that night and tagged me in them.  Although I do sort of wonder if she did that for J’s benefit, you know?  She’s not a big Facebook poster, so it was sort of out of character and I wondered if she might be trying to make J jealous.  I don’t know anymore.  I hate even having to wonder if there was motive behind it.  I shouldn’t have to worry about crap like that with my own best friend.

I messaged her this morning and we chatted for a little bit and then she didn’t message me this afternoon.  So I messaged her again in the evening and she finally messaged me back a little later.  I had a really long day at work today and sort of wanted to vent, but right when I said something, she was saying goodnight.  She told me a minute later that I could call her if I wanted, but I said it was fine and I knew she needed to work.  I think she felt bad because she told me to call her again.  So I did.  And we talked for 2 and a half hours.  I told her about work then we were talking about nothing and everything like normal.

I just don’t understand her some days.

Most days.

She’s simple like Quantum Physics.

Leave a comment